Phantogram: wtf are they even saying?

I’ve been listening to a lot of easy going music lately, really just chilling out after the massive report I had to file this past week. Basically the worst thing ever…Bands like The weeknd, Otis Taylor, Slow Club, Races, Emiliana Torrini, Bon Iver, and PHANTOGRAM. If you have read an of my past blogs (more specifically the ones about Hudson Mohawke), then you know that music can make me very passionate, to say the least. Now all of these bands have made me passionate to lay on the couch and sleep/say things like “radical dude” and “thats so zen.” Side note: Zen is not an adjective. Thank you. Now Phantogram actually rocks out in a couple of their songs. I see myself and a group of cool looking people slow motion walking from a gas explosion to the song “When I’m Small” by Phantogram. Their sound is awesome and I love it, but what are they even saying? I didn’t bother looking up the lyrics (or even really trying to listen to them for that mater) because I had the sneaking suspicion that they would “weird me out.” Well regardless of what they are really saying, for the time being I will continue listening to them. Tina caught me dancing in the lobby with four of my friends today. She threw an egg at me…(she was returning from a trip to the grocery store). I kept dancing.  MESSAGE TO ALL FEMALES TRYING TO STOP YOUR MAN FROM DANCING: YOU CAN’T STOP THE DANCE!

My dancing friends in no particular order (I feel like they deserve mention):

Sam – She is the Definition of a tom boy. She can probably drink more than me. Scratch that, she can drink more than me.

Gerry – Skinny little punk that we all love. Looks like and is the equivalent too Garret Hedlund in the movie Four Brothers. We call him Ger bear.

Image

Michael – the smart one of the group. The one who says “guys, thats probably a bad idea.” and then helps us with it.

Lastly but certainly not least, the group mom, but also a serious tom boy, Elsy. She takes care of us when we, ahem, get into trouble, but she is pretty bad herself.

There are a couple more of close friends that would have been dancing with us, but they missed out. What’s your favorite dance move and who do you dance with?

Leave a Reply

